PDC Order of Merit

The Order of Merit is the official Ranking system of the PDC. It is based on tournament earnings over a period of the past two seasons. The Order of Merit was first introduced in 2007. The ranking system is used for the seeding and/or qualification of players in the Premier events with the exception of the UK Open. From 2009 until 2013, Phil Taylor was the number one ranked player. Since 2014 however, Michael van Gerwen leads the Order of Merit.

The main advantage of using the Order of Merit lies in the fact that when a player has a bad year, his qualifying rights don't diminish right away. However it also takes new players and players that dropped from the rankings longer to earn a top spot. The PDC Order of Merit ranking system thus benefits consistency during the major tournaments such as the World Championship, Premier League and Open tournaments.

PDC Order of Merit Top 16

The Top 16 of the PDC Order of Merit are automatically qualified for all PDC Major tournaments
Michael van Gerwen; Mighty Mike   Netherlands(30)
PDC Ranking: 1; Red Dragon Ranking: 1
Michael van Gerwen is a professional darts player from the Netherlands, currently playingh in the PDC. In 2014 Might Mike became the youngest to player ever to win the World Championships. After this win he was also ranked number one in the...
Peter Wright; Snake Bite   Scotland(49)
PDC Ranking: 2; Red Dragon Ranking: 2
Scotsman Peter Wright always makes a colourfull appearance at the oche due to his wild hair style and eccentric clothes. Nevertheless, Wright or “Snakebite” has been in the top of the PDC for quite some years, although he almost never wins a...
Gerwyn Price; The Iceman   Wales(34)
PDC Ranking: 3; Red Dragon Ranking: 3
Career earnings: .1,412,803
Michael Smith; Bully Boy   England(29)
PDC Ranking: 5; Red Dragon Ranking: 10
Michael Smith's rise to fame came quickly when he beat Phil Taylor in a second round match of the 2014 World Championship. He finished in style with bull's eye for a 128 finish. Right after this match inexperienced Smith lost to Peter...
Gary Anderson; The Flying Scotsman   Scotland(49)
PDC Ranking: 6; Red Dragon Ranking: 17
Gary Anderson is a Scottish darts player who reached and won the finals of the PDC world championship 2015 beating Phil Taylor (7 sets to 6). After a successful carreer in the BDO, Anderson switched to the PDC in 2009. Soon the “Flying Scotsman”...
Daryl Gurney; SuperChin   Northern Ireland(33)
PDC Ranking: 7; Red Dragon Ranking: 11
Londonderry, Northern Ireland
Career earnings: .1,313,950
Nathan Aspinall   England(28)
PDC Ranking: 8; Red Dragon Ranking: 5
Career earnings: .573,175
James Wade; The Machine   England(36)
PDC Ranking: 9; Red Dragon Ranking: 8
James Wade “The Machine” switched from the BDO to the PDC in 2004. Ever since, Wade has won the World Match Play (2007), The World Grand Prix (2007,2010), the Premier League in 2009, the UK Open in 2008 and 2011 and The Masters in 2014.
Dave Chisnall; Chizzy   England(39)
PDC Ranking: 10; Red Dragon Ranking: 7
“Chizzy” is one of the few players that has beaten Phil Taylor pre-2012. He knocked out the Power in the 2012 PDC world championship. Howver Chisnall lost to Andy Hamilton in the very next round.
Ian White; Diamond   England(49)
PDC Ranking: 11; Red Dragon Ranking: 9
Ian White switched sides in 2010. Ever Since White has been a consistent force amongst the top players of the PDC. Although he has not won a PDC Major tournament yet, White won the Antwerp Open, Denmark Open and the English National Championship,...
Mensur Suljovic; The Gentle   Austria(47)
PDC Ranking: 12; Red Dragon Ranking: 13
Vienna, Austria
Career earnings: .1,384,617
Adrian Lewis; Jackpot   England(35)
PDC Ranking: 13; Red Dragon Ranking: 18
Adrian Lewis (nickname: Jackpot) is a well decorated darts player from Stoke-on-Trent, England. Lewis made his PDC tv debut in 2004 during the UK Open. In 2011 Lewis became world champion by beating Gary Anderson in the finals (7-5). During...
Simon Whitlock; The Wizard   Australia(50)
PDC Ranking: 14; Red Dragon Ranking: 30
Long haired, goatie and the eyes of a maniac, professional darter Simon Whitlock from Australia is a remarkable appearance at the oche. During his long carreer Whitlock has made the switch from BDO to the PDC a few times. He has been very succesfull...
Joe Cullen; Rockstar   England(30)
PDC Ranking: 15; Red Dragon Ranking: 26
Bradford, England
Career earnings: .657,844
Stephen Bunting; The Bullet   England(34)
PDC Ranking: 17; Red Dragon Ranking: 20
Stephen Bunting is one of newest top players in the PDC. After a successfull carreer in the BDO, the Bullet decided to switch sides in early 2014. Due to his good BDO results, Bunting was granted a tour card immediately. He reached the quarter...
Johnny Clayton; The Ferret   Wales(45)
PDC Ranking: 16; Red Dragon Ranking: 25
Career earnings: .487,050

Outside Top 16

18Krzysztof RatajskiPoland£246,250
19Chris DobeyEngland£239,750
21Jeffrey de ZwaanNetherlands£232,750
22Mervyn KingEngland£225,250
23Jermaine WattimenaNetherlands£224,000
24Max HoppGermany£220,500
25Steve BeatonEngland£205,750
26Darren WebsterEngland£202,750
28Ricky EvansEngland£193,500
29Dimitri van den BerghBelgium£184,750
30Keegan BrownEngland£172,750
31John HendersonScotland£167,750
32Brendan DolanNorthern Ireland£157,750
33Steve WestEngland£155,500
34Vincent van der VoortNetherlands£153,500
36Kim HuybrechtsBelgium£139,750
37Willie O ConnorIreland£137,000
39James WilsonEngland£131,250
42Kyle AndersonAustralia£118,750
43Josh PayneEngland£117,500
45Cristo ReyesSpain£111,000
47Ross SmithEngland£107,000
48Ron MeulenkampNetherlands£104,500
49Jelle KlaasenNetherlands£98,000
51Martin SchindlerGermany£79,000
52Benito van de PasNetherlands£76,000
54Michael MansellNorthern Ireland£74,500
55Justin PipeEngland£72,500
56Jan DekkerNetherlands£71,250
57Devon PetersenSouth Africa£70,250
58Jamie LewisWales£68,250
59Luke WoodhouseEngland£67,750
61Robert ThorntonScotland£60,500
62Antonio AlcinasSpain£58,250
63Matt EdgarEngland£56,750
68Andy BoultonEngland£36,250
70Rowby John RodriguezAustria£27,500
73Joe MurnanEngland£17,500
76Conan WhiteheadEngland£17,000
77Kirk ShepherdEngland£15,500
80Matt ClarkEngland£12,000
81Adrian GrayEngland£11,500
83Dave PallettEngland£11,000
88John MichaelGreece£9,500
90Barrie BatesWales£7,500
91Jonathan WorsleyWales£7,000
92Nathan DerryEngland£7,000
94Dirk van DuijvenbodeNetherlands£5,500
99Steve BrownEngland£2,500
100Alan TabernEngland£2,500
102Adam HuntEngland£2,500
104Wayne JonesEngland£2,500
109Mike de DeckerBelgium£2,000
112Andy HamiltonEngland£1,500
123Michael BarnardEngland£1,500
124Andrew GildingEngland£1,000
128Matthew DennantEngland£500
Vote PDC Order of Merit

Rating: 3.1/5 (366 votes)